top of page

Painted Poppies Layering Flowers

This card really adds a pop of colour, especially against the white background. I added texture to the background using the Bricks & Mortar Embossing Folder.



Supplies Used:


Painted Poppies Bundle (153827)

Peaceful Moments Bundle (153824)

Clear Block D (118485)

Clear Block H (118490)

Brick & Mortar Embossing Folder (149643)

VersaMark Ink Pad (102283)

Heat Tool (129054)

White Stampin' Emboss Power (109132)

Embossing Buddy


Whisper White Cardstock (106549)

-10cm x 14.35cm

-14.85cm x 21cm (Scored at 10.5cm)

-Scrap

Basic Black Cardstock (121688)

-Scrap


Classic Stampin' Pads:

Granny Apple Green (147095)

Gorgeous Grape (141099)

Melon Mambo (147051)

Bermuda Bay (147096)


Paper Snips (103579)

Paper Trimmer (152392)

Sponge Dauber (133173)

Stampin' Seal (152813)

Mini Glue Dots (103683)

Dimensionals (104430)

Die cutting Machine



Here's how I made it:


Starting with a scrap piece of Whisper White Cardstock, I wiped over with the Embossing Buddy to remove any static and stamped the large Poppy using VersaMark Ink.


I then stamped the smaller Poppy 3 times in VersaMark Ink.


Then Stamping the large leaf 3 times and the small leaf 4 times, again with VersaMark.

Taking the White Stampin' Emboss Powder i Sprinkled this over the stamped images and tapped off the excess.


I then set the powder with the Heat Tool.


I then used a Sponge Dauber to gently apply Gorgeous Grape to the large flower and 1 small flower. I built up the colour using light circular motions. For the centre of the flowers I added a it more colour.


I then used Melon Mambo on 1 of the small flowers in the same way as before.


For the final small flower, I did the same technique, but instead used Bermuda Bay.


For the Leaves I used Granny Apple Green. Again using a light circular motion to build up colour. I made each leaf slightly lighter than the last, by not reining the dauber. To add some dimension I streaked some extra colour slightly through the lighter leaves.



I then Die Cut the Flowers and smaller leaves, using the coordinating Dies from the Bundles. For the larger leaves, I fussy cut them using my Paper Snips.



I aligned a piece of Whisper White Cardstock (10cm x 14.35cm) in the Brick & Mortar Embossing Folder and ran it through the Die Cutting Machine.


I then adhered this to the front of a card base (Whisper White Cardstock 14.85cm x 21cm, scored at 10.5cm)


Next, I arranged the flowers and leaves on the front of the card to find the best position.


Using Mini Glue Dots I adhered the flowers and leaves together. I then used Dimensionals to adhere the arrangement to the front of the card.


I then took a piece of scrap Basic Black Cardstock and wiped over with the Embossing Buddy.


I then stamped a sentiment from the Peaceful Moments Stamp Set in VeraMark.


I then sprinkled this with White Stampin' Emboss Powder and tapped off excess.


I then set the powder with the Heat Tool.


I then used the Paper Trimmer to cut down the card around the sentiment. I used the ridges on the finger guard as a guide to line the edge of the sentiment against, to create and even border.

Finally, I applied Mini Glue Dots to the back of the sentiment and aligned and adhered to the front of the card. I chose to tuck it slightly under the leaves.


Here you can watch a Video Tutorial of how it's made:

For supplies used, visit:

Happy Crafting x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page