top of page

Rainbow Background with Washi Tape

Today I decided to use up some of my Washi Tape I have lying around. I seem to hoard Washi Tape and never use it as much as I probably should. I thought I would use it more of a tool today rather than as an embellishment.


Supplies Used:


Ridiculously Awesome Stamp Set (152512)

Clear Block E (118484)

Sponge Daubers (133773)


Classic Stampin' Pads: -

-Melon Mambo (147051)

-Mango Melody (147093)

-Granny Apple Green (147095)

-Bermuda Bay (147096)

-Gorgeous Grape (147099)


Cardstock: -

Thick Whisper White (140490)

-14.85cm x 21cm (Scored at 10.5cm)

Whisper White (106549)

Scrap


Stampin' Up! Cut & Emboss Machine (149638)

Stitched Nested Labels (149638)


Stampin' Dimensionals (104430)

Bone Folder (102300)

Washi Tape (approx 1cm wide)


Here's how I made it:


Taking a piece of Thick Whisper White Cardstock (14.85cm x 21cm - Scored & Burnished at 10.5cm), I took the Washi Tape and Placed one piece from the top right corner to the bottom left corner. I then placed a second piece from the top left corner to the middle of the right hand side. Finally I place a piece from the bottom left corner to the middle of the right hand side.


Now to ad the colour. Starting with Melon Mambo, I used a Sponge Dauber to add colour to the top triangle. I built the colour up gradually in a circular motion. In the same way, I then added Mango Melody to the top right triangle, Granny Apple Green to the middle triangle, Bermuda Bay to the bottom right triangle and Gorgeous Grape to the remaining triangle. Once all the triangles are coloured in I very gently removed the Washi Tape.

Tip: Go very slowly and gently or you may tear the card.


Now to stamp the sentiment on a piece of scrap Whisper White Cardstock. To do this I used the "You are my Sunshine" sentiment from the Ridiculously Awesome stamp set. I added Granny Apple Green to the words "You are my" and Mango Melody to the word "Sunshine" using a Sponge Dauber. Once they are inked up I breath on the stamp to reactive the ink, incase it has dried up a little.

I then stamped the sentiment on the scrap cardstock.



Using the Stampin' Cut & Emboss Machine and the Stitched Nested Labels Dies. I aligned the die over the sentiment and ran through the machine.

The scrap I was using was a slightly awkward size, so I tore off the excess before running through the machine.


Finally I put 4 Stampin' Dimensional to the back of the die cut sentiment and placed this at the top half of the card.


Here you can watch a Video Tutorial of how it's made:


For supplies used, visit:


Happy Crafting x

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
bottom of page